New Discover Feature Enables Consumers to Temporarily Block Transactions on Lost Cards

April 20, 2015

New Discover Feature Enables Consumers to Temporarily Block Transactions on Lost Cards Discover has launched a new feature that enables consumers who have misplaced their credit or debit cards to freeze their accounts without actually closing them. In the past, some issuers have allowed customers to temporarily deactivate cards, but that deactivation has never applied to card-not-present transactions. Discover’s Freeze It feature does. Discover said the feature will appeal to consumers who cannot find their card, but are unsure if it is permanently lost or stolen. Cardholders can turn the card off from a mobile device, online or over the phone and can turn the account back on the same way.

“We’re giving our card members a fast and simple security feature that gives them more control over their accounts and more peace of mind if a card goes missing,” said Julie Loeger, senior vice president of marketing. “The Freeze It feature adds another layer of protection to Discover’s continued efforts to increase card member security and help prevent fraud.”

While card-not-present transactions, and most others, are blocked when Freeze It is engaged, recurring transactions will be allowed to go through, the company said. The new feature does not apply to Discover business cards. A patent on Freeze It is pending and Discover said it is the only card issuer with the feature.